Enchiladas

I just posted my Enchilada Sauce recipe, so I thought I might as well record my Enchilada recipe.
The whole combo is great. I created this just on the go, but it has worked out great and it is lower calorie, or at least can be, low calorie.
Some people use white tortillas for their enchiladas and then fill the tortillas and roll them up. Others use corn and layer them… others put out all the ingredients and then have people zap them in the microwave to create their own enchilada creations, others layer white tortillas… the list goes ON and ON.
Because of this, I have often asked myself…
“What is the RIGHT way to make enchiladas??”
Well, I haven’t been able to find a right way, because I don’t think there is. There is a million different ways, and you can choose. I go back and forth between some of these. It just depends what tortillas I have on hand (the flour are easier to roll, corn are easier to layer- in my opinion) or what I feel like. So in a way, that is the hard thing about enchiladas, because there is no set way, which can be confusing. But it is also the awesome and liberating thing about them- there is no right way!!!
For my enchiladas, I will give the filling recipe. The filling works well being rolled up inside flour tortillas and done in a layer fashion with corn tortillas.
Here we go:
2 chicken breasts, boiled, and then shredded
1 can diced green chili’s (4 oz)
1 can (15 oz) or 2 cups bean of choice (I typically use black bean)
2 cups frozen corn
1/2 cup- 1 cup Salsa (use whatever kind you prefer)
About 1/3 of the Enchilada Sauce  ( I double the sauce recipe)
1 cup cottage cheese (use whatever % fat you like)
1 egg
salt & pepper
Prepare by putting just a bit of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and spreading it to cover the whole bottom, then do the layers or rolls of the tortillas. Cover the enchiladas using the remainder of the sauce. Cook at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. For the last minute or 2 turn on the broiler and let the cheese get bubbly and slightly crispy.
*You can add cheese to the filling if you would like and you may top with cheese as well. This is a just a great recipe because those who don’t eat cheese can still share in the yumminess! 🙂
Leave a Reply

