Creamy Chicken Tomato Parmesan Soup

This recipe made me really happy. 1) It is creamy, BUT very healthy! 2) The flavor is -YUM!

Recently I have been very intrigued by the Creamy Cauliflower Sauce created by Pinch of Yum. This recipe is the essence of cooking genius. I’ve always LOVED fettuccine alfredo. But, I can’t bring myself to have it very often because it is so jammed packed with calories! This cauliflower sauce not only makes the “alfredo” sauce healthier, but it is just plain healthy. The main ingredient is cauliflower- so when I eat this, I feel free to eat more and more, because I’m eating veggies!
Creamy Cauliflower Sauce
I promise, I didn’t get sidetracked from the soup…. The creator of this cauliflower sauce recipe made an Ebook full of ways you can use this healthy cauliflower white sauce in a variety of recipes. After looking through the Ebook, I was blown away at all the different recipes should could make healthier.
So, when I found this delicious looking Creamy Tomato Parmesan Soup recipe my mind started ticking…
tomato basil parmesan soup in the slow cookier
The only thing I didn’t like about it, was that to make the soup creamy it used 2 cups of half and half. I’m not a big fan of having a deliciously healthy recipe & then throwing half and half in… especially when there is a great alternative. I decided to make the creamy cauliflower sauce and substitute it for the half and half. It worked beautifully! So now, you have a tomato soup with a cauliflower base…. basically very creamy, but healthy too!
I made a couple alterations to the original cauliflower sauce, so here is how I did mine. It is a bit more simplistic, but still tasted great! A lot of these suggestions came from my sister-in-law.
I just used frozen cauliflower- about 2-3 cups worth. Then boiled it for about 8-10 minutes. Then I put about 2 tablespoons of chicken bouillon into the water I boiled the cauliflower in and mixed it in thoroughly. I let the cauliflower sit for a couple minutes and cool. Then I took out the cauliflower and put it in the blender with just a bit of the chicken broth. I blended this for about 2 minutes in the blender. Then I added about 1/3 of the traditional block of neufchatel cream cheese, about 1/2 cup of low fat cottage cheese, and then about 1 tablespoon garlic powder. I blended this for another couple minutes until it was smooth. You can add as much of the chicken/cauliflower broth as you would like to get the desired consistency. It was delicious!

Then, the only alteration I made to the Tomato Parmesan soup besides using the cauliflower sauce in place of cream, was I added about 1 lb. of chicken. I used about 7 chicken tenderloins. I de-thawed them and then added them to the crockpot at the beginning with everything else. Just before serving the soup I shredded the chicken. I wanted the soup to be a bit more hearty, and it honestly turned out great!

Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

