Baked Pumpkin Apple Oatmeal

So ya know that Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal recipe that I love? Well… I got to thinking this week and decided that I thought it would be fun to mix up the recipe a bit. I really like pumpkin and apple together- their flavors seem to complement each other. So, I decided I would give it a try. I talked to my sister-in-law who is great at baking & we came up with a recipe together.

Baked Pumpkin Apple Oatmeal

This Baked Pumpkin Apple Oatmeal is personally my favorite baked oatmeal I have tried. It is moist, light, sweet, and has a nice cinnamon, pumpkin flavor to it. One of my favorite parts is the slices of apple mixed in. mmmm…. I snack on this stuff periodically throughout the day, cause it just sounds good!

If you are new to baked oatmeal, I’ll let you in on some great ways to eat it. You can prepare it in SO many ways. Here are some of the ones I know of:

  • Mix warmed baked oatmeal with some milk and chopped nuts.
  • Mix with plain yogurt, or a yogurt you think would go nicely with pumpkin.- I sometimes add a titch of granola to give it some crunch, or you could do fresh nuts, raisins…. I also sometimes add approx. 1 tsp of vanilla protein powder to the mixture…. just because I think it tastes great.
  • Cut the warm baked oatmeal in half and spread some butter in it. To me it tastes like the epitome of warm, buttery goodness.
  • You can also munch on them for a snack! I love to just pull one square out of the fridge and munch on it. It has a sweetness to it, from the pumpkin, yet it feels healthy and filling!
Okay, so lets get into the nitty gritty.

Ingredients: (This makes 1 (9×13) pan. I typically double the recipe so that I can have my breakfasts ready to go for about a week or so.) 

1 egg
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 cup canned pureed pumpkin
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 1/2 cups milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 cups oats
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
2 teaspoons baking powder
4 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1-2 teaspoons cinnamon (approx.)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1-2 apple(s), sliced

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all the wet ingredients together in a medium sized bowl. Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix thoroughly. Finally, add in the apples that are sliced thinly and then diced into about 1 cm. squares. Stir in evenly. Grease a 9×13 pan and pour mixture evenly into the pan.

IMG_20151008_105842398

Cook for 45 min.-1 hr. or until the tooth pick comes out clean and the edges of the baked pumpkin have pulled away from the side. The oatmeal will still be a bit moist, but it will continue to dry out a bit. Let the baked oatmeal cool in the pan for about 10-15 minutes. Then cut up into squares, put in ziplocks or tupperware, and store in the fridge.

IMG_20151008_133944925 IMG_20151008_133951934

There ya have it, my favorite fall breakfast!

3 comments

  1. This might be breakfast later this week–looks soooo tasty! Thanks for sharing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you like it! I’m all about the healthy breakfast and natural sweet flavors. It sets the right tone for the rest of the day. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pumpkin!! Oh how I love pumpkin season. I will be trying this. 🙂 Thanks for some breakfast inspiration, Marla!

    Like

Leave a Reply

