Golden Sweet Cornbread

This is our favorite cornbread recipe. No questions asked. Whenever I tell Sam that I either am thinking about making it or am making it, he lights up! In fact, he often volunteers to make it. It is not the healthiest recipe, but it is good. I’ve decided recently that if something is just good, and trying to make it healthier might make it less so, then I might as well make it the normal way, enjoy it, and think of it as a treat.

Golden Sweet Cornbread Recipe
This recipe I got from Allrecipes. Here is the link. 
I just make a couple alterations per the reviews of other people.
  • I decrease the amount of baking powder a bit- instead of the called for 3 1/2 tsp. I will use 2 1/2 – 3 tsp. 
  • Instead of using all white sugar, we use 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 light brown sugar. 
  • I add just a titch more oil- between 1/3- 1/2 c. This little bit of extra oil helps the cornbread to stay together, instead of crumbling. (Which I feel like is the biggest downfall of most cornbreads- they are usually so messy!)
  • Then just a tip of my own: Let the cornbread cool for about 5-10 min. after coming out of the oven. If you cut into it too soon, it will crumble. But if you let it cool for just a couple minutes. It cuts into great pieces like a gem. And it stays together like a gem, too. 
You can eat this bread with butter or honey, or I like to just eat it plain. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

